Women Take Control by Taking the Wheel in Saudi Arabia

June 17, 2011 at 9:55 am Leave a comment

Today is “I will drive the car myself day” in Saudi Arabia.  It’s the only country in the world where women are not permitted to drive, and Saudi women are speaking out, using Facebook and Twitter to encourage each other to get behind the wheel on June 17. 

This article reports: “My driver takes me someplace, and then my husband picks me up and drives me home,” said one young woman who asked not be named. “I just want, for a few minutes, to be able to go somewhere that no one knows where I am. Men don’t want you to have that freedom. You can go somewhere and they don’t know where you are? It’s their worst nightmare.”

Read more: http://www.globalpost.com/dispatch/news/regions/middle-east/saudi-arabia/110615/saudi-womens-rights-driving-rights?page=full

To visit the movement’s Facebook page, search for “I will drive my car in my country”.

To see tweets about “I will drive the car myself day”, search for hashtag #women2drive or click here.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

“Climate Change Adaptation and Conflict in Nigeria” “Training Women Facilitators in Iraq”

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 326 other followers

Top Clicks

  • None

